Home Back

FULL LIST: All Senegal’s Presidents since independence

The Nation Nigeria 2024/4/12

Senegal’s President-Elect Bassirou Diomaye Faye will be inaugurated on April 2 after he was confirmed by the nation’s constitutional council.

The 44-year-old will replace President Macky Sall after he won more than 54 percent of votes in the March 24 elections.

1. Léopold Sédar Senghor: He was the first president of Senegal and he was President from September 6 1960 to December 31 1980.

2. Abdou Diouf: He spent 19 years in office ruling from January 1 1981 to April 1 2000

3. Abdoulaye Wade: He was President from 1 April 2000 to 2 April 2012.

4. Macky Sall: He is the incumbent President till President-Elect Bassirou Diomaye Faye is inaguarated April 2 2024.

People are also reading